October 14, 2011 admin

Anjum & Chetri Named Captain of Indian Hockey Teams for Australia Tour

 Ranjit Singh Preet
Experienced striker Saba Anjum will lead an 18-member Indian women’s  hockey team to Australia this month for a four-match Test series against the hosts followed by a three-nation nine-a-side International Super Series tournament. Besides India and Australia, the nine-a-side tournament, to be held under the aegis of the International Hockey Federation (FIH), will also feature Malaysia. The team will start its tour with the first Test against Australia on October 14 before heading to Perth on October 20 to compete in the inaugural nine-a-side event.
                This is the first time such a tournament is being played internationally and the organisers have concided the event (MEN’S  & WOMEN’S) with the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) at Perth. The format  (MEN’S  & WOMEN’S)  is played on the normal field but with several changes like an additional one meter wider goal.. Other some changes like an ;–
One player must be in the attacking half at all times while the format allows only two defenders besides the goalkeeper to stop penalty corners.
There must not be more than four players from the attacking team for taking the penalty corners.
The players also need to stand outside the 23 meter line before they receive the out push from the back line and the penalty corner must be executed within 25 seconds.
                                            However, in case of long corners it is five players versus five. Again the attackers have to be outside the 23 meter area. The match duration is thirty minutes with two halves of fifteen minutes each. If the scores are level after thirty minutes the penalty shootout will be applicable where the striker is allowed only eight seconds to score.
                              Indian women Squad, & Schedule:  Yogita Bali, E Rajani (goalkeepers), Joydeep Kaur, Preety Sunila Kiro, Jaspreet Kaur (defenders), Asunta Lakra Kirandeep Kaur, Ritu Rani, P Sushila Chanu, Mukta Prava Barla Deepika (midfielders), Forwards Saba Anjum (Captain), Jasjeet Kaur Handa (vice captain), Poonam Rani, Vandana Katariya, Rani, Soundarya Yendala, Rosalin Dung Dung (strikers).
                            Standbys: Savita (goalkeeper), Th. Pinki Devi (defender), MN Ponnamma, Kiran Dahiya (midfielders), Rashmi Singh (forward)
14 October – 1st Test vs Australia
15 October – 2nd test vs Australia
17 October – 3rd Test vs Australia
18 October – 4th Test v Australia
International Super Series 9 a Side Tournament at Perth :-
India vs Malaysia (Two Matches) 20 October
India vsAustralia (Two Matches)  21 October
India vs Malaysia (Two Matches) 22 October
India vs Australia (Two Matches)
23 October Final and 3/4 Place.
                               Goalkeeper Bharat Chetri, 27, will be leading the Indian men’s  hockey team,. The team was selected at Bangalore after trials, which were attended by HI selectors B.P. Govinda, Syed Ali, Thoiba Singh and A.B. Subbaiah besides government observer Dilip Tirkey. A week after revoking the ban on ace drag-flicker Sandeep Singh and mid-fielder Sardar Singh, Hockey India (HI) recalled the duo in the 22-member India squad for the Four Nation 9-a-side International Super Series and a tri-nation tournament involving Pakistan and hosts Australia. The HI slapped a two-year ban on Sandeep and Sardar, who are repeat offenders, after they left the national camp for the Asian Champions Trophy in Bangalore about two months ago, citing personal reasons. But last week the ban was revoked after the two players tendered an unconditional apology and requested that they be given one last chance.
The really important event is the four-nation tournament (October 20-23) featuring, apart from India, Australia, New Zealand and Pakistan. Interestingly, minus India the rest are sure of their Olympic spots in London 2012.
                                 India begin their tour against Australia ‘A’ Oct 17 and will then take on New Zealand the next day. The nine-a-side tournament, which is sanctioned by the International Hockey Federation (FIH), will be  played in Perth  Oct 20-23 and will also feature Pakistan, New Zealand and hosts Australia. The tri-series, involving India, Pakistan   and  Australia, will be played at Busselton and Bunbury in Western Australia Oct 26 – Nov 3.
                          Chief hockey coach Michael Nobbs said.. "I’m still yet to understand the complete rules and we’ve played just once during the practice session," “I would say it was outstanding to come through without losing a match. Full credit to the boys’ enthusiasm, and skills.”

                              Indian men Squad, & Schedule
Goalkeepers: Bharat Chetri (Captain), P.R. Sreejesh;
Defenders: Manjit Kullu, Rupinderpal Singh, V.R. Raghunath, Sandeep Singh;
Midfielders: Ignace Tirkey (vice-captain), Gurbaj Singh, Vikas Sharma, Manpreet Singh, Vikram Pillay, Arjun Halappa, Sardar Singh;
Forwards: Danish Mujtaba, Ravi Pal, Sarvanjit Singh, Rajpal Singh, Yuvraj Valmiki, S.V. Sunil, Gurvinder Singh Chandi, Tushar Khandker, Bharat Chhikara

Standbys: Nanak Singh (goalkeeper), Birendra Lakra (midfielder), Mandip Antil (forward), Chinglingsana (forward), Roshan Minz (forward)

Warm-up matches: India vs. Australia ‘A’ (Oct 17); India vs. New Zealand (Oct 18)

Nine-a-side schedule:

Oct 20: India vs. New Zealand (two matches)
Oct 21: India vs. Pakistan (two matches)
Oct 22: India vs. Australia (two Matches)
Oct 23: Final and 3/4 Place

Tri-nation series:

Oct 26: India vs. Australia (Busselton)
Oct 27: India vs. Pakistan (Busselton)
Oct 31: India vs. Australia (Bunbury)
Nov 1: India vs. Pakistan (Bunbury)
Nov 3: Final
Ranjit Singh Preet
Bhagta-151206 (Bathinda)


Translate »