October 16, 2011 admin

“IEEE’s conference ICAER ‘11:Threshold of Innovations”

A National level conference ICAER (IEEE Student Conference on Cognizance of Applied Engineering and Research) 2011 was organized by IEEE Student Branch of University Institute of Engineering and Technology, Panjab University on 15 Oct. 2011 in the Golden Jubilee Hall of the university in which 33 papers were shortlisted and presented by the students of various colleges including PEC, UIET, NITs, DCE, Thapar University.

The conference began with presenting the bouquets to the dignitaries followed by lamp lightning and release of proceedings. Director of UIET, Prof. Renu Vig gave the introductory speech regarding the importance of higher studies and research and was of the view that writing the research paper is just the tip of the iceberg .The conference talks were delivered by Prof. P. Thareja, Materials and Metallurgical Deptt, PEC University of Technology and Prof. Bhupinder Singh Bhoop, University Institute of Pharmaceutical Studies, Panjab University Chandigarh.

Mr. Thareja stated that research is analogous to “Driving a car while looking into the rear mirror” and “Research is to see what everybody has seen but to think that nobody thought”. He also stressed on the problem of water scarcity faced by India in the coming future and the need to bring about new techniques and efficient planning to counter the problem.

Prof.B.S.Bhoop gave the expert talk on “Cognizance of Research”. He was of the opinion that hypothesis is the “pivot” of research and gave the examples of some of the greatest scientists of the century to inspire innovations. He sensitized students about research and said that “If a research is not published, it should rather not be done” and also made the students aware of unethical publishing practices and the need to prevent such practices. He highlighted the fact that “Panjab University stands fourth in number of papers published every year by Indian institutions.

This was followed by the presentation session in which students presented their review and research papers. Tarun Chaudhary and Gargi Khanna(NIT Hamirpur), Parul Khurana(UIET) were adjudged as 1st, 2ndprize respectively. Neha Purwaha (DTU) and Pulkit Aggarwal(NSIT), Akshay Jain(NIT Surat) jointly won 3rd prize. Mr. Y.P. Verma, Branch Counsellor, IEEE, UIET gave away the prizes to the.

The event concluded with the vote of thanks from Chirag Goel, Student Chairperson of IEEE UIET.


Translate »