October 17, 2011 admin

HJC’s Kuldeep Bishnoi wins Hisar bypoll,

HISAR: HJC-BJP combine nominee Kuldeep Bishnoi on Monday won the prestigious Hisar Lok Sabha byelection in Haryana in a closely-fought battle in which Team Anna sought a crushing defeat for the Congress that was pushed to a far third position.

Bishnoi (42), son of former Haryana chief minister Bhajan Lal whose death was the reson the bypoll was held, retained the seat for the party defeating his nearest rival INLD’s Ajay Singh Chautala (50), son of former chief minister Om Parkash Chautala, by a margin of 6,323 votes, out of the over nine lakh votes polled.

Ruling Congress nominee and three-time MP from Hisar Jai Prakash (58), a former Union Mmnister, finished third. He had won the seat last in 2004 as Congress nominee.

Bishnoi, whose Haryana Janhit Congress ( HJC) tied up with BJP, secured 3,55,941 votes followed by Chautala with 3,49,618 votes and way behind was Jai Parkash, who polled 1,49,785 votes.

Translate »