October 20, 2011 admin

Dr. Mohinder Kaur Gill and Prem Parkash Khannvi are Punjabi Sahit Ratan

Chandigarh – The Punjab government has today announced the names of Dr. Mohinder Kaur Gill and Prem Parkash Khannvi for the highest literary award i.e. Punjabi Sahit Ratan for 2010 and 2011 respectively.
This was finalized in a meeting of the state Level Advisory Board of Language Department held here today under the chairmanship of Punjab Education and Languages Minister Mr. Sewa Singh Sekhwan to select the names for prestigious literary awards Punjabi Sahit Ratan and Shiromani Awards for 15 different categories.
Later talking to media persons Mr. Sekhwan revealed that Dr. Mohinder Kaur Gill and Prem Parkash Khannvi have been selected for highest award i.e. Punjabi Sahit Ratan. Besides this, the names of Dr. Tejwant Mann and Surjit Haans for Shiromani Punjabi Sahitkar Award, Gurbachan Singh and Krishan Kumar Rattu for Shiromani Hindi Sahitkar Award, Sardar Anjum and Dr. Rubina Shabnam for Shiromani Urdu Sahitkar Award, Shiv Parshad Bhardwaj and Dr. Mahesh Chander Sharma Gautam for Shiromani Sanskrit Sahitkar Award, Surinder Gill and Surjit Judge for Shiromani Punjabi Poet Award,  Haribhajan Singh Bhatia for Shiromani Punjabi Critics Award ( 2010 ) and Saroop Singh Alag ( 2011 ) for Shiromani Gyan Sahitkar Award, Ms. Veena Verma and Jarnail Singh Toronto for Shiromani Punjabi Sahitkar ( foreigner ) Award, Darshan Singh “Bhau” and Mr. Harbhajan Singh Komal for Shiromani Punjabi Sahitkar (outside Punjab) Award , Sukhdev Singh Grewal and Kamaljit Nillon for Shiromani Punjabi Bal Sahit Writer Award, Hukam Chand Sharma and Kamaljit Singh Banwait for Shiromani Punjabi Patarkar Award , Gurwinder Singh Dhaliwal and Jagdish Singh Waryam for Shiromani Punjabi Sahitik Patarkar Award , Joga Singh Jogi and Nirmal Singh Khalsa for Shiromani Ragi / Dhadi / Kavishar  Award, Jatinder Kaur and Kesar Singh for Shiromani Punjabi Television / Radio / Theater Award and Amarjeet Gurdaspuri and Kuldeep Manak have been finalized for Shiromani Punjabi Singer / Musician Award for 2010 and 2011 respectively.
The Education Minister said that Punjabi Sahit Ratan Award carries Rs. 5 Lakh each, a Shawl, medal and plaque while Shiromani Awards winners to get Rs. 2.5 each a shawl, medal and plaque. He said that keeping in view the unique contribution in promotion of Punjabi Language, Literature and Culture it was decided to honor Kirpal Singh Badungar and Harvinder Singh Khalsa with Rs. 1.5 Lakh each while Gulzar Singh Shounki with Rs. One Lakh award money. He informed that soon a special function would be organized to confer these awards.
The meeting was attended by Dr. Roshan Sankaria, Secretary Higher Education and Languages, Dr. Balbir Kaur, Director Language Department besides office bearers of different Sahit academies and members of State Advisory Board.

Translate »