February 6, 2012 admin

Foundation stone of Subzi Mandi at Manali laid

SHIMLA 6th February 2012 : Prof. Prem Kumar Dhumal, Chief Minister said that 48 Marketing Yards and sub-yards had been constructed in various parts of the State at a cost of Rs. 76 crore so as to ensure better marketing facilities to the farmers and fruit growers. He was addressing a mammoth public meeting at Chauri Vihal near Manali in Kullu district today after performing foundation stone laying ceremony of Subzi Mandi to be constructed at a cost of Rs. 1.82 crore.
Chief Minister said that the proposed marketing yard at Manali would facilitate the farmers of Kullu and Lahaul-Spiti districts. The State Government was taking every possible step to safeguard the interests of farmers and fruit growers of the State. He said that the construction work of marketing yards at Kharapathar, Nirmand, Karsog, Jahu and Ghumarwin was in progress on which  Rs. 10 crore were being spent. He said that one more modern marketing yard was being constructed at Parala in Shimla district by spending Rs. 100 crore and one more such marketing yard would be constructed in lower area of the State.
Prof. Dhumal said that the State Government had launched Rs. 353 crore Pandit Deen Dayal Kisan Baagwan Samridhi Yojna for the welfare of farmers and fruit growers of the State under the beneficiaries were being provided subsidy of 80 percent. The Scheme had been launched with a view to boost the economy of the farming community by encourage them to adopt modern techniques of farming.
Shri Govind Thakur, local MLA welcomed the Chief Minister and said that the marketing yard would go a long way in facilitating the farmers and fruits growers of Kullu and Lahaul-Spiti districts. He also thanked the Chief Minister for upgrading the Manali hospital.
The local panchayats also handed over the resolutions of providing required land for setting up of a University in the area to the Chief Minister.
 Shri Khimi Ram, MLA and President, State BJP, Shri Kishori Lal, MLA Ani, Shri Kunj Lal Thakur, former Minister,  Shri Chander Sen Thakur, Ex MLA, Smt. Dhaneshwari Thakur, Chairperson, State Women Commission,  Shri Net Ram Thakur, Chairman, APMC, Shri Dharamvir Dhami, Senior BJP Leader, Shri Ram Singh, District President, BJP, Shri Bal Mukund Rana, BJP Mandal President, Smt. Reshma Thakur, Member Zila Parishad and other prominent persons were present on the occasion.

Translate »