February 21, 2012 admin

Nazarana of Deities participating Shivratri Fair enhanced

SHIMLA 21st February 2012 : Prof. Prem Kumar Dhumal, Chief Minister, today inaugurated the week-long traditional International Shivratri Mahotsava by unfurling the festival flag at historic Paddal Grounds at Mandi town today after he inaugurated the exhibitions put up by different departments and other organisations, where he took keen interest in the exhibits displayed by all the exhibitors.
Prof. Prem Kumar Dhumal, announced hike of 20 percent in the ‘Nazarana’ of the participating deities in International Shivratri Festival from current festival onward and added that required land would be identified to construct a Dev Sadan at Mandi to facilitate stay of the participating deities in the Shivratri Festival.  He said that work on Mandi bye-pass would be constructed and a tunnel bored to  divert the traffic outside the town and decongest the town of heavy traffic movements.  He said that Mandi being a heritage town, the State Government was committed to preserve its heritage status and give boost to heritage promotion activities.  He said that the State Government was making all out efforts to develop the town by providing all best of the amenities to the residents and people visiting the town from different parts of the country.
Chief Minister said that Inter District Bus Stand would be completed on priority, besides Jail from Jail road would be shifted out of the town and the space would be utilized for other bonafide purposes like development of parking and construction of shopping complex.  He said that the long pending Harsipattan bridge over Beas river was completed at a cost of Rs. 18 crore by providing adequate budgetary provisions which had benefited about 50 thousand population of Kangra, Mandi and Hamirpur districts and was recently dedicated to them.  He said that work on IIT complex at Kamand and ESI Hospital and Medical College was in progress and was likely to be completed and dedicated to the people of the State by next year.
Prof. Dhumal congratulated the organisers for making all arrangements by upholding the rich traditions of Chhoti Kashi, Mandi town and maintain the traditional gaiety and fervour of the festival.  He also greeted people on Maha Shivratri Festival and wished them a joyous celebration.
CM was presented a draft of Rs. 2.00 lakh by Chairman of the Organising Committee of Shivratri Fair, Shri Devesh Kumar, as contribution towards the Chief Minister’s Relief Fund.  Smt. Yogita Devi, wife of Vir Chakra Awardee late Shri Prem Singh Guleria also presented a draft of Rs. 11,000 towards the CM Relief Fund in memoriam of her late husband.  He also released the souvenir brought out to mark the celebration of the Festival. Later CM also inaugurated the SARAS Fair exhibiting rural products from different states of the country at Seri Manch. CM also flagged off the rally organised by HPSEBL under Public Interaction Programme from Bhiuli bridge.
Shri Devesh Kumar, Deputy Commissioner-cum-Chairman, International Shivratri Mahotsava Festival Organising Committee, welcomed the Chief Minister, and gave a detailed account of the week long celebration.  He said that best efforts had been made to ensure that the traditional status of the ancient celebration was maintained.  He thanked CM for inaugurating the festival. An impressive variety cultural programme was presented by the school children to mark the inaugural ceremony of the festival.
Shri Gulab Singh Thakur, PWD Minister, Shri Jai Ram Thakur, Panchayati Raj and Rural Development Minister, Shri Dile Ram, Shri Roop Singh Thakur, Shri Khimi Ram,  Col. Inder Singh, Shri Anil Sharma, Shri Hira Lal, MLAs, former MLAs, Shri Mohan Joshi, Chairman, MILKFED, Shri Ram Swaroop Sharma, Vice Chairman, HP State Civil Supplies Corporation, Shri Khira Mani, Chairman, Zila Parishad, Shri Ved Sharma, Chairman, APMC, Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of different Boards and Corporations, Shri Ajay Rana, State Vice President, BJP, Shri Narender Atri, President, State BJYM,   Shri SKBS Negi, Principal Secretary PR&RD, dignitaries of the district which included Shri R.S. Negi, Divisional Commissioner, Shri Ashok Sharma, IGP, Shri Devesh Kumar, DC, Shri Abhishek Dullar, SP, other senior officers and prominent people of the town.

Translate »