May 17, 2012 admin


CHANDIGARH MAY 17: The Punjab government would soon revise the minimum wages of the labour class in the state.
An assurance to this effect was given by the Punjab Chief Minister Mr. Parkash Singh Badal to the delegation of Punjab Migrant Labour Welfare Board led by its President Mr. RC Yadav in a meeting here at Punjab Bhawan this morning. 
Responding to the demands put forth by the delegation, Mr. Badal asked the Principal Secretary Labour to soon convene a meeting for the fixation of minimum wages so that upward revision in the wages for the labour class across the state could be ensured.  Mr. Badal also asked the Labour Welfare Board to ensure the registration of labourers duly certified by the concerned panchayat who have rendered their services especially in the rural areas for 90 days in order to avail of benefits under various central  and state welfare schemes for labour.
Mr. Badal also directed the Secretary Food & Civil Supplies to issue instructions to the field staff for the initiation of the process for ration cards to the eligible beneficiaries amongst the migratory labour by organizing special camps.  
Regarding their registration as voters in the voter list, Chief Electoral Officer Punjab Ms. Kusumjit Sidhu informed in the meeting that any eligible person could get himself registered as voter after completing certain required formalities under the law during the process of summery revision of electoral rolls due in September this.
The Chief Minister also asked the Principal Secretary Home to issue detailed guidelines to the police heads of districts across the state for giving due respect and recognition to the members of Punjab migrant labour welfare board.  
Expressing gratitude to the Chief Minister for the sympathetic consideration of their demands, Mr. Yadav assured him that the migratory labour would ever contribute towards the development and prosperity of the state.
Prominent amongst others who were present in the meeting included Chief Electoral Officer Ms. Kusumjit Sidhu, Principal Secretary Labour Mr. RC Nayyar, Principal Secretary Home Mr. DS Bains, Secretary Food & Civil Supplies Mr. DS Grewal, Secretary Revenue Mr. BS Sudan, Mr. Gurkirat Kirpal Singh, Mr. Gaggandip Singh Brar (both Special Principal Secretaries to Chief Minister) and Director Local Government Mr. AK Sinha.

Translate »