May 18, 2012 admin

Annual Sports Prize Distribution Function

Patiala 17 May-Multani Mal Modi College, Patiala bagged the overall (Men and Women) General Sports Championship Trophy for 2010-11.  This was declared during the Annual Sports Prize Distribution Function organised by the Sports Department of the University in Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Hall, here today.  S. Sikander Singh Maluka, Education Minister, Punjab was the chief guest and gave away the prizes to the winners of Inter-national, national and Inter-varsity tournaments.  Dr. Jaspal Singh, Vice-Chancellor of the University presided over the function. On this occasion sports persons, coaches and managers who brought laurels for their participation in inter-national, national and inter-varsity sports meets were honoured with cash prizes and certificates.  An important feature of this function was that Principals of those colleges who contributed towards the achievement of  prestigious MAKA trophy by the Punjabi University were also honoured.  Many sports luminaries who contributed tremendously for the development of sports were bestowed with life time achievement award.  They include S. Mangal Singh Dhillon, Dr. G.K. Dhillon, Capt. B.S. Poonia, Principal M.L. Kamlesh and S. Sukhminder Singh Sidhu.  On this occasion Mr. P.S. Bhangu was award Vice-Chancellor Coach of the Year award for 2009-10. Dr. Jaspal Singh while appreciating the sports persons of Punjabi University for their achievements hoped that Punjabi University will remain number one University in sports.  He assured that University was keenly planning to complete the projects like Synthetic Track and renovation of multipurpose sports hall. Earlier Dr. Raj Kumar Sharma, Director Sports of the University while welcoming the guests presented the annual report of the sports department.  Dr. S.S. Tiwana, Dean Academic Affairs proposed a vote of thanks and declared that University has established five additional seats in its courses for the sports persons. Present on this occasion include Dr. Jamshid Ali Khan, Dean Colleges and Dr.  K.S. Dhillon, Dean Students.   

Translate »