August 3, 2012 admin

Declare Pipal & Banyan Trees as Heritage Brands

Today a meeting was convened by Mr. Priyak Bharti, the officiating Deputy Commissioner, Amritsar, N.S.Randhawa DFO, ASR, Civil Surgeon, SSP (Rural), XEN UBDC, Animal  Husbandry and Education Deptt. at Circuit House regarding Greening Punjab Mission initiated by Punjab Government. The meeting was attended by the heads of various Govt departments and NGOs of Amritsar. The members of NGOs tied black ribbons on their arms to lodge their protest against recent slaughter of divine trees ‘Pipal & Banyan’ by Durgiana Commitee and Amritsar Improvement Trust in a very cunning manner in the name of beautification. It was brought into the notice of DC, DFO and other officials that AIT had got the nod of Punjab Govt to go ahead with the transplantation of these five trees and tenders to this effect were to be floated later on.     
All the representatives of NGOs appreciated this endeavour of Punjab Govt to make Punjab Green and Clean but at the same urged to maintain already planted trees and declare Pipal & Banyan Trees as Heritage Brands.
The Deputy Commissioner was urged to order investigation in the issue of dumping of toxic ash in drains of Jagdev Kalan and Kotli.
During the meeting the District Administration announced to plant 5,83,000 trees in this season. Deepak Babbar, Executive Director, Mission Aagaaz said that in order to assure maximum success rate of such a huge number of trees, a mass awareness drive should be intiated. He added that it is of utmost necessity that each and every citzen realizes the importance of these green lungs in the survival of human life. We are already reeling under the threat of global warming and climate change. One should listen to the warning of nature as current season of SAWAN has almost gone dry.
Representatives of NGOs viz. Brij Mohan Sharma, D.P. Gupta (Bharat Vikas Parishad), Inderjit Arya (Arya Samaj), Jagmohan Singh (Lok Kalyan Samiti), P.S. Bhatty (Pollution Control Committee), Swaraj Grover (Jan Kalyan Samiti), K.S. Takkar, Deepak Babbar, Indu Bhatia, Poonam Sharma, Kailash Sharma (Mission Aagaaz) were present in the meeting.

(Gurbhej Singh)
General Secretary


Translate »