February 26, 2013 admin

Highlights of Railway Budget 2013-14

New Delhi, 26th Feb 2013 (Bharat Sandesh News):– The Railway Minister presented the Railway budget in Parliament and said that I do so with mixed feelings crossing my mind. While I have a feeling of a colossus today, it is only ephemeral and is instantaneously overtaken by a sense of humility. Democracy gives wings to the wingless, cautioning us all the while, that howsoever high or wide our flight may be, we must remain connected to the ground".

Thrust of the budget : 1. Safety; 2. Consolidation; 3. Passenger Amenities; 4. Fiscal Discipline.


Centralized Catering Services Monitoring Cell set up with a toll free number (1800 111 321).

The railway minister said that as we have seen, trains to various religious destinations are always overcrowded. To facilitate pilgrims’ journeys, I have decided to add more trains to these places. Amongst the five Sikh Takhts, it is only Takht Shri Damdama Sahib at Talwandi Sabo which is not connected by a rail link. I, therefore, propose to take up construction of railway line from Rama Mandi to Maur Mandi via Talwandi Sabo to provide this link.

The new express & passenger trains being introduced are:

1. Amritsar – Lalkuan Express (Weekly) Via Chandigarh
2. Chandigarh –Amritsar Intercity Express (Daily) Via Sahibzada Ajitsingh Nagar (Mohali), Ludhiana
3. Bathinda – Jammu Tawi Express (Weekly) Via Patiala, Rajpura
4. Delhi – Firozpur Intercity Express (Daily) Via Bathinda
5. Delhi – Hoshiarpur Express (Weekly) 6. New Delhi – Katra AC Express (6 Days a week)
7. Una / Nangaldam– Hazoor Saheb Nanded Express (Weekly) Via Anandpur Saheb, Morinda, Chandigarh, Ambala
8. Bathinda – Dhuri Passenger (Daily)
9. New DEMU sevice for Taran Taran – Goindwal Saheb. 

Extension of Trains::
1. 14731/14732 Delhi – Bathinda Express to Fazilka
2. 54632/54633 Dhuri-Hisar/ Hisar- Ludhiana Passenger to Sirsa 

Frequency of trains being changed:
1. 14037/14038 Delhi-Pathankot Express 3 to 6 days
2. 19325/19326 Indore – Amritsar Express 1 to 2 days
3. 12469/12470 Kanpur – Jammu Tawi Express 1 to 2 days
4. 12217/12218 Kochuveli – Chandigarh Express 1 to 2 days

Translate »